University of Otago.Department of Physiology.Department of Physiology.

Physiology TV

An overview of Physiology at the University of Otago.

News

8th September, 2017

PhD student wins two awards at Queenstown Research Week

Congratulations to Mauro Silva, PhD student in the Department of Physiology. Mauro is supervised by Dr Rebecca Campbell.

8th September, 2017

Triennial Medal awarded to Professor Colin Brown

Congratulations to Colin who as been chosen by the Physiological Society of NZ (PSNZ) to be the recipient of the NZ Triennial Medal.

28th August, 2017

Dr Andrew Bahn awarded Arthritis NZ Project Grant

Congratulations to Dr Bahn who has been awarded a $60K grant for his project “Identification of oxypurinol transporters to decipher drug-drug interactions in gout treatment”.

25th August, 2017

Congratulations to Lorna Daniels, PhD

Lorna Daniels’ PhD thesis has made the Health Sciences Divisional List of Exceptional Doctoral theses.

14th August, 2017

Professor Colin Brown recognised by the British Society for Neuroendocrinology (BSN)

Prof Brown has been awarded the 2017 Mortyn Jones Memorial Medal, which is awarded annually by the BSN.

Next Event

30th October, 2017

Dr Alexander Tups (Department of Physiology)

 
PhD Programme.

Our People


Research Academics

Dr Richard Piet

Richard Piet

Dr Zoe Ashley

Zoe Ashley

Dr Rachael Augustine

Rachael Augustine

Zsuzsanna Barad

Zsuzsanna Barad

Daniel Barth

Daniel Barth

Alisa Boucsein

Alisa Boucsein

Greg Bouwer

Greg Bouwer

Dr Carol Bussey

Carol Bussey

Tanya Cheung

Tanya Cheung

Alison Clare

Alison Clare

Dr Jenny Clarkson

Jenny Clarkson

Elliot Cooper

Elliot Cooper

Dr Eulalia Coutinho

Eulalia Coutinho

Dr Elodie Desroziers

Elodie Desroziers

Dr Lisa Fan

Lisa Fan

Ingrid Fomison-Nurse

Ingrid Fomison-Nurse

Justine Fuller

Justine Fuller

Dr Su Young Han

Su Young Han

Dr Sabine Hessler

Sabine Hessler

Gillian Hughes

Gillian Hughes

Michael Jennings

Michael Jennings

Grace Kane

Grace Kane

Alexia Kauff

Alexia Kauff

Dr Joon Kim

Joon Kim

Dr Xinhuai Liu

Xinhuai Liu

Dr Jamie McQuillan

Jamie McQuillan

Dr Michelle Munro

Michelle Munro

Betina Nair

Betina Nair

Jaya Papannarao

Jaya Papannarao

Daniil Potapov

Daniil Potapov

Kyoko Potapov

Kyoko Potapov

Dr Emmet Power

Emmet Power

Mel Prescott

Mel Prescott

Dominik Pretz

Dominik Pretz

Dr Mohammed Rizwan

Mohammed Rizwan

Dr Xander Seymour

Xander Seymour

Callum Tanner

Callum Tanner

Isabelle van Hout

Isabelle van Hout

Rachel Wallace

Rachel Wallace

Adam Ware

Adam Ware

Dr Richard Piet

Richard Piet

Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 9016
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: richard.piet@otago.ac.nz

Dr Zoe Ashley

Zoe Ashley

Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4703415
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: zoe.ashley@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rachael Augustine

Rachael Augustine

Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4703442
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: rachael.augustine@otago.ac.nz

Zsuzsanna Barad

Zsuzsanna Barad

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: zsuzsanna.barad@otago.ac.nz

Daniel Barth

Daniel Barth

PhD Student/Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 6371
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: barda933@student.otago.ac.nz

Thesis topic: Characterising the effect of shear force on the activity of epithelial sodium and acid sensing ion channels

Alisa Boucsein

Alisa Boucsein

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: a.boucsein@otago.ac.nz

Greg Bouwer

Greg Bouwer

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4703440
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: gregory.bouwer@otago.ac.nz

Dr Carol Bussey

Carol Bussey

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4796371
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: carol.bussey@otago.ac.nz

Tanya Cheung

Tanya Cheung

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4796371
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: tanya.cheung@otago.ac.nz

Alison Clare

Alison Clare

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Dr Jenny Clarkson

Jenny Clarkson

Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4798207
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: jenny.clarkson@otago.ac.nz

Elliot Cooper

Elliot Cooper

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 4211
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: elliot.cooper@otago.ac.nz

Dr Eulalia Coutinho

Eulalia Coutinho

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 470 3445
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: eulalia.coutinho@otago.ac.nz

Dr Elodie Desroziers

Elodie Desroziers

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4703445
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: elodie.desroziers@otago.ac.nz

Dr Lisa Fan

Lisa Fan

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797316
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: lisa.fan@otago.ac.nz

Ingrid Fomison-Nurse

Ingrid Fomison-Nurse

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797512
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: ingrid.fomison-nurse@otago.ac.nz

Justine Fuller

Justine Fuller

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797344
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: justine.fuller@otago.ac.nz

Dr Su Young Han

Su Young Han

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 8207
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: su.han@otago.ac.nz

Dr Sabine Hessler

Sabine Hessler

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 470 3440
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: sabine.hessler@otago.ac.nz

Gillian Hughes

Gillian Hughes

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4703417
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: gill.hughes@otago.ac.nz

Michael Jennings

Michael Jennings

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: michael.jennings@otago.ac.nz

Grace Kane

Grace Kane

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 7107
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: grace.kane@otago.ac.nz

Alexia Kauff

Alexia Kauff

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 7107
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: alexia.kauff@otago.ac.nz

Dr Joon Kim

Joon Kim

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 3445
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: joon.kim@otago.ac.nz

Dr Xinhuai Liu

Xinhuai Liu

Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797107
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: xinhuai.liu@otago.ac.nz

Dr Jamie McQuillan

Jamie McQuillan

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: jamie.mcquillan@otago.ac.nz

Dr Michelle Munro

Michelle Munro

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: michelle.munro@otago.ac.nz

Betina Nair

Betina Nair

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 470 3440
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: betina.nair@otago.ac.nz

Jaya Papannarao

Jaya Papannarao

Assistant Research Fellow/PhD Student

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 7512
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: jaya.bellaepapannarao@otago.ac.nz

Daniil Potapov

Daniil Potapov

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: daniil.potapov@otago.ac.nz

Kyoko Potapov

Kyoko Potapov

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 5210
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: kyoko.potapov@otago.ac.nz

Dr Emmet Power

Emmet Power

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 4236
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: emmet.power@otago.ac.nz

Mel Prescott

Mel Prescott

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4703444
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: mel.prescott@otago.ac.nz

Dominik Pretz

Dominik Pretz

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: dominik.pretz@otago.ac.nz

Dr Mohammed Rizwan

Mohammed Rizwan

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: mohammed.rizwan@otago.ac.nz

Dr Xander Seymour

Xander Seymour

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4703441
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: xander.seymour@otago.ac.nz

Callum Tanner

Callum Tanner

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 4219
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: callum.tanner@otago.ac.nz

Isabelle van Hout

Isabelle van Hout

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 7316
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: isabelle.vanhout@otago.ac.nz

Rachel Wallace

Rachel Wallace

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 6371
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: rachel.wallace@otago.ac.nz

Adam Ware

Adam Ware

Assistant Research Fellow/PhD Student

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 6371
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: warad375@student.otago.ac.nz

The Physiology Department's staff are so approachable and genuinely happy to help. Having lecturers be so positive and excited about their work makes study so much easier!

Allie Finlay - BSc (Physiology) student