University of Otago.Department of Physiology.Department of Physiology.

Physiology TV

An overview of Physiology at the University of Otago.

News

23rd June, 2017

Two HRC Project Grants awarded to Physiology Professor

Congratulations to Professor Allan Herbison who is the recipient of two Health Research Council of NZ (HRC) Project Grants totalling almost $2.6 million.

12th May, 2017

Julia Gouws (MSc student) receives another accolade for her research

After being awarded 1st= for the School of Biomedical Sciences Dean’s Prize for best 2016/17 Summer Scholarship Report recently, Julia has received another prestigious award this week.

5th May, 2017

Physiology PhD students take home prizes at the School Symposium

he School of Biomedical Sciences (BMS) Postgraduate Symposium was held on 3-4 May at the Otago Museum, and once again, our students had great success at the event.

30th March, 2017

Physiology student wins School’s Prize for Best Summer Scholarship report

Congratulations to Julia Gouws (supervisor Dr Karl Iremonger) who was awarded 1st= for the School of Biomedical Sciences Dean’s Prize for best Summer Scholarship Report for 2016/17.

30th March, 2017

Department of Physiology staff continue to be involved in fantastic Lab in a Box initiative

Lab in a Box is a mobile science laboratory, built in a 20 foot shipping container. It comes fully equipped with both science “gear” and people. Researchers and students from around New Zealand (or indeed around the World) are involved in this fantast

Next Event

3rd July, 2017

Aaron Korpal (PhD Final presentation, Department of Physiology)

 
PhD Programme.

Our People


Research Academics

Dr Richard Piet

Richard Piet

Dr Zoe Ashley

Zoe Ashley

Dr Rachael Augustine

Rachael Augustine

Zsuzsanna Barad

Zsuzsanna Barad

Alisa Boucsein

Alisa Boucsein

Greg Bouwer

Greg Bouwer

Dr Carol Bussey

Carol Bussey

Tanya Cheung

Tanya Cheung

Dr Jenny Clarkson

Jenny Clarkson

Elliot Cooper

Elliot Cooper

Dr Elodie Desroziers

Elodie Desroziers

Dr Lisa Fan

Lisa Fan

Rachel Farquhar

Rachel Farquhar

Ingrid Fomison-Nurse

Ingrid Fomison-Nurse

Justine Fuller

Justine Fuller

Dr Luis Gonano

Luis Gonano

Dr Su Young Han

Su Young Han

Gillian Hughes

Gillian Hughes

Michael Jennings

Michael Jennings

Grace Kane

Grace Kane

Alexia Kauff

Alexia Kauff

Dr Joon Kim

Joon Kim

Dr Xinhuai Liu

Xinhuai Liu

Janet McLay

Janet McLay

Dr Jamie McQuillan

Jamie McQuillan

Dr Michelle Munro

Michelle Munro

Betina Nair

Betina Nair

Daniil Potapov

Daniil Potapov

Kyoko Potapov

Kyoko Potapov

Dr Emmet Power

Emmet Power

Mel Prescott

Mel Prescott

Dominik Pretz

Dominik Pretz

Dr Mohammed Rizwan

Mohammed Rizwan

Dr Xander Seymour

Xander Seymour

Isabelle van Hout

Isabelle van Hout

Rachel Wallace

Rachel Wallace

Dr Richard Piet

Richard Piet

Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 9016
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: richard.piet@otago.ac.nz

Dr Zoe Ashley

Zoe Ashley

Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4703415
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: zoe.ashley@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rachael Augustine

Rachael Augustine

Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4703442
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: rachael.augustine@otago.ac.nz

Zsuzsanna Barad

Zsuzsanna Barad

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: zsuzsanna.barad@otago.ac.nz

Alisa Boucsein

Alisa Boucsein

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: a.boucsein@otago.ac.nz

Greg Bouwer

Greg Bouwer

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4703440
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: gregory.bouwer@otago.ac.nz

Dr Carol Bussey

Carol Bussey

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4796371
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: carol.bussey@otago.ac.nz

Tanya Cheung

Tanya Cheung

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4796371
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: tanya.cheung@otago.ac.nz

Dr Jenny Clarkson

Jenny Clarkson

Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4798207
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: jenny.clarkson@otago.ac.nz

Elliot Cooper

Elliot Cooper

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 4211
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: elliot.cooper@otago.ac.nz

Dr Elodie Desroziers

Elodie Desroziers

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4703445
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: elodie.desroziers@otago.ac.nz

Dr Lisa Fan

Lisa Fan

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797316
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: lisa.fan@otago.ac.nz

Rachel Farquhar

Rachel Farquhar

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 7315
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: farra956@student.otago.ac.nz

Ingrid Fomison-Nurse

Ingrid Fomison-Nurse

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797512
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: ingrid.fomison-nurse@otago.ac.nz

Justine Fuller

Justine Fuller

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797344
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: justine.fuller@otago.ac.nz

Dr Luis Gonano

Luis Gonano

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 470 3572
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: luis.gonano@otago.ac.nz

Dr Su Young Han

Su Young Han

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 8207
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: su.han@otago.ac.nz

Gillian Hughes

Gillian Hughes

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4703417
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: gill.hughes@otago.ac.nz

Michael Jennings

Michael Jennings

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: michael.jennings@otago.ac.nz

Grace Kane

Grace Kane

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 7107
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: grace.kane@otago.ac.nz

Alexia Kauff

Alexia Kauff

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 7107
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: alexia.kauff@otago.ac.nz

Dr Joon Kim

Joon Kim

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 3445
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: joon.kim@otago.ac.nz

Dr Xinhuai Liu

Xinhuai Liu

Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797107
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: xinhuai.liu@otago.ac.nz

Janet McLay

Janet McLay

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 470 3572
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: janet.mclay@otago.ac.nz

Dr Jamie McQuillan

Jamie McQuillan

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: jamie.mcquillan@otago.ac.nz

Dr Michelle Munro

Michelle Munro

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: michelle.munro@otago.ac.nz

Betina Nair

Betina Nair

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 470 3440
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: betina.nair@otago.ac.nz

Daniil Potapov

Daniil Potapov

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: daniil.potapov@otago.ac.nz

Kyoko Potapov

Kyoko Potapov

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 5210
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: kyoko.potapov@otago.ac.nz

Dr Emmet Power

Emmet Power

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 4236
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: emmet.power@otago.ac.nz

Mel Prescott

Mel Prescott

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4703444
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: mel.prescott@otago.ac.nz

Dominik Pretz

Dominik Pretz

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: dominik.pretz@otago.ac.nz

Dr Mohammed Rizwan

Mohammed Rizwan

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: mohammed.rizwan@otago.ac.nz

Dr Xander Seymour

Xander Seymour

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4703441
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: xander.seymour@otago.ac.nz

Isabelle van Hout

Isabelle van Hout

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 7316
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: isabelle.vanhout@otago.ac.nz

Rachel Wallace

Rachel Wallace

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 6371
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: rachel.wallace@otago.ac.nz

I really see no harm which can come of giving our children a little knowledge of physiology.

Thomas Henry Huxley - Science and Culture (1882), 92