University of Otago.Department of Physiology.Department of Physiology.

Physiology TV

An overview of Physiology at the University of Otago.

News

17th May, 2018

BMS Postgraduate Colloquium

Congratulations to all the students who presented at the BMS Postgraduate Colloquium this week.

11th April, 2018

PCOS research featured in the news

The latest exciting findings from Assoc Prof Rebecca Campbell's lab into the role of brain signalling in polycystic ovary syndrome was featured on RadioNZ on 10th April.

14th March, 2018

Is a man's grey matter the same as a woman's? The documentary features Professor Allan Herbison and Dr Jenny Clarkson and was made with the support of NZ on Air.

9th February, 2018

Dahlia based diabetes drug developed by Physiology researcher ready for human trials

In partnership with Plant and Food Research, researchers will soon begin human trials of a drug made from dahlias.

9th January, 2018

Otago breakthrough in diabetic heart disease

The molecule responsible for heart disease in diabetics has been identified by University of Otago researchers, greatly improving chances of survival.

Next Event

30th July, 2018

Dr Joanne Harrison (Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology)

 
PhD Programme.

Our People


Research Academics

Dr Richard Piet

Richard Piet

Dr Zoe Ashley

Zoe Ashley

Dr Rachael Augustine

Rachael Augustine

Zsuzsanna Barad

Zsuzsanna Barad

Alisa Boucsein

Alisa Boucsein

Greg Bouwer

Greg Bouwer

Dr Carol Bussey

Carol Bussey

Dhananjie Chandrasekera

Dhananjie Chandrasekera

Isaiah Cheong

Isaiah Cheong

Tanya Cheung

Tanya Cheung

Dr Jenny Clarkson

Jenny Clarkson

Dr Eulalia Coutinho

Eulalia Coutinho

Dr Elodie Desroziers

Elodie Desroziers

Dr Lisa Fan

Lisa Fan

Ingrid Fomison-Nurse

Ingrid Fomison-Nurse

Justine Fuller

Justine Fuller

Dr Su Young Han

Su Young Han

Dr Michel Herde

Michel Herde

Dr Sabine Hessler

Sabine Hessler

Gillian Hughes

Gillian Hughes

Alexia Kauff

Alexia Kauff

Dr Joon Kim

Joon Kim

Dr Xinhuai Liu

Xinhuai Liu

Dr Jamie McQuillan

Jamie McQuillan

Dr Michelle Munro

Michelle Munro

Betina Nair

Betina Nair

Jaya Papannarao

Jaya Papannarao

Daniil Potapov

Daniil Potapov

Kyoko Potapov

Kyoko Potapov

Dr Emmet Power

Emmet Power

Mel Prescott

Mel Prescott

Dominik Pretz

Dominik Pretz

Dr Mohammed Rizwan

Mohammed Rizwan

Dr Sonja Seeger-Armbruster

Sonja Seeger-Armbruster

Dr Xander Seymour

Xander Seymour

Callum Tanner

Callum Tanner

Isabelle van Hout

Isabelle van Hout

Rachel Wallace

Rachel Wallace

Adam Ware

Adam Ware

Dr Richard Piet

Richard Piet

Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 9016
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: richard.piet@otago.ac.nz

Dr Zoe Ashley

Zoe Ashley

Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4703415
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: zoe.ashley@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rachael Augustine

Rachael Augustine

Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4703442
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: rachael.augustine@otago.ac.nz

Zsuzsanna Barad

Zsuzsanna Barad

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: zsuzsanna.barad@otago.ac.nz

Alisa Boucsein

Alisa Boucsein

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: a.boucsein@otago.ac.nz

Greg Bouwer

Greg Bouwer

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4703440
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: gregory.bouwer@otago.ac.nz

Dr Carol Bussey

Carol Bussey

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 470 3417
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: carol.bussey@otago.ac.nz

Dhananjie Chandrasekera

Dhananjie Chandrasekera

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 7512
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: chadh653@student.otago.ac.nz

Isaiah Cheong

Isaiah Cheong

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 7107
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: isaiah.cheong@otago.ac.nz

Tanya Cheung

Tanya Cheung

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4796371
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: tanya.cheung@otago.ac.nz

Dr Jenny Clarkson

Jenny Clarkson

Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4798207
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: jenny.clarkson@otago.ac.nz

Dr Eulalia Coutinho

Eulalia Coutinho

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 470 3445
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: eulalia.coutinho@otago.ac.nz

Dr Elodie Desroziers

Elodie Desroziers

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4703445
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: elodie.desroziers@otago.ac.nz

Dr Lisa Fan

Lisa Fan

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797316
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: lisa.fan@otago.ac.nz

Ingrid Fomison-Nurse

Ingrid Fomison-Nurse

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797512
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: ingrid.fomison-nurse@otago.ac.nz

Justine Fuller

Justine Fuller

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797344
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: justine.fuller@otago.ac.nz

Dr Su Young Han

Su Young Han

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 8207
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: su.han@otago.ac.nz

Dr Michel Herde

Michel Herde

Coordinator, Centre for Neuroendocrinology

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: michel.herde@otago.ac.nz

Dr Sabine Hessler

Sabine Hessler

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 470 3440
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: sabine.hessler@otago.ac.nz

Gillian Hughes

Gillian Hughes

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4703417
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: gill.hughes@otago.ac.nz

Alexia Kauff

Alexia Kauff

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 7107
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: alexia.kauff@otago.ac.nz

Dr Joon Kim

Joon Kim

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 3445
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: joon.kim@otago.ac.nz

Dr Xinhuai Liu

Xinhuai Liu

Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797107
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: xinhuai.liu@otago.ac.nz

Dr Jamie McQuillan

Jamie McQuillan

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: jamie.mcquillan@otago.ac.nz

Dr Michelle Munro

Michelle Munro

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: michelle.munro@otago.ac.nz

Betina Nair

Betina Nair

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 470 3440
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: betina.nair@otago.ac.nz

Jaya Papannarao

Jaya Papannarao

Assistant Research Fellow/PhD Student

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 7512
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: jaya.bellaepapannarao@otago.ac.nz

Daniil Potapov

Daniil Potapov

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: daniil.potapov@otago.ac.nz

Kyoko Potapov

Kyoko Potapov

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 5210
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: kyoko.potapov@otago.ac.nz

Dr Emmet Power

Emmet Power

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 4236
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: emmet.power@otago.ac.nz

Mel Prescott

Mel Prescott

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4703444
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: mel.prescott@otago.ac.nz

Dominik Pretz

Dominik Pretz

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: dominik.pretz@otago.ac.nz

Dr Mohammed Rizwan

Mohammed Rizwan

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: mohammed.rizwan@otago.ac.nz

Dr Sonja Seeger-Armbruster

Sonja Seeger-Armbruster

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 4219
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: sonja.seeger-armbruster@otago.ac.nz

Dr Xander Seymour

Xander Seymour

Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4703441
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: xander.seymour@otago.ac.nz

Callum Tanner

Callum Tanner

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 4219
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: callum.tanner@otago.ac.nz

Isabelle van Hout

Isabelle van Hout

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 7316
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: isabelle.vanhout@otago.ac.nz

Rachel Wallace

Rachel Wallace

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 6371
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: rachel.wallace@otago.ac.nz

Adam Ware

Adam Ware

Assistant Research Fellow

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 6371
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: warad375@student.otago.ac.nz

My Summer Research Scholarship in the Department of Physiology was the highlight of my time at the University of Otago as I learnt many new skills, including how to carry out scientific research in a controlled manner, collecting and analyzing scientific data in an orderly fashion, and most importantly, learning to read and think critically.

Aye Thaung - Summer Research Student 2010/2011