University of Otago.Department of Physiology.Department of Physiology.

Physiology TV

An overview of Physiology at the University of Otago.

News

13th November, 2017

Otago study could mean hope for infertile couples

Crucial new information about how the brain controls fertility has been unlocked by University of Otago researchers, with their findings just published in prestigious journal Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America.

13th November, 2017

Phenomenal success for Physiology researchers in latest Marsden funding round

Four 3-year project grants were awarded to Department of Physiology researchers in this year’s Marsden Fund - totalling over $3.8M.

25th October, 2017

Charlotte Steel, BSc (Hons) NEUR student in the Department has gained a Cambridge Rutherford Memorial PhD Scholarship

Our congratulations to Charlotte who is currently completing a BSc (Hons) degree in Neuroscience in the Department of Physiology with supervisor Assoc Prof Phil Sheard.

8th September, 2017

PhD student wins two awards at Queenstown Research Week

Congratulations to Mauro Silva, PhD student in the Department of Physiology. Mauro is supervised by Dr Rebecca Campbell.

8th September, 2017

Triennial Medal awarded to Professor Colin Brown

Congratulations to Colin who as been chosen by the Physiological Society of NZ (PSNZ) to be the recipient of the NZ Triennial Medal.

PhD Programme.

Our People


General Staff

Mandy Bacon

Mandy Bacon

Janine Cockburn

Janine Cockburn

Sue Deans

Sue Deans

Tracey Fleet

Tracey Fleet

Dianne Galvin

Dianne Galvin

Josh Gould

Josh Gould

Karen Grant

Karen Grant

Ray Hannagan

Ray Hannagan

Dr Chris Harvey

Chris Harvey

Rachael  Holloway

Rachael Holloway

Charlotte Morris

Charlotte Morris

Heather Muir

Heather Muir

Karla Sellwood

Karla Sellwood

Fran Short

Fran Short

Aaron Singline

Aaron Singline

Maureen Symister

Maureen Symister

Paul Treadwell

Paul Treadwell

Leo Van Rens

Leo Van Rens

James Woods

James Woods

Mandy Bacon

Mandy Bacon

Lab Technician

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 7310
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: mandy.bacon@otago.ac.nz

Janine Cockburn

Janine Cockburn

Financial Administrator

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4795406
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: janine.cockburn@otago.ac.nz

Sue Deans

Sue Deans

Technical Manager

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4795106
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: sue.deans@otago.ac.nz

Tracey Fleet

Tracey Fleet

Departmental Administrator

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797317
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: tracey.fleet@otago.ac.nz

Dianne Galvin

Dianne Galvin

Financial Manager

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4795228
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: dianne.galvin@otago.ac.nz

Josh Gould

Josh Gould

Laboratory Assistant

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 7310
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: josh.gould@otago.ac.nz

Karen Grant

Karen Grant

Financial Administrator

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 7417
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: karen.grant@otago.ac.nz

Ray Hannagan

Ray Hannagan

Lab Technician

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797310
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: ray.hannagan@otago.ac.nz

Dr Chris Harvey

Chris Harvey

Lab Technician

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 7310
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: chris.harvey@otago.ac.nz

Rachael Holloway

Rachael Holloway

Compliance Officer

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797332
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: rachael.holloway@otago.ac.nz

Charlotte Morris

Charlotte Morris

Lab Technician

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797310
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: charlotte.morris@otago.ac.nz

Heather Muir

Heather Muir

Purchasing Officer

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 9265
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: heather.muir@otago.ac.nz

Karla Sellwood

Karla Sellwood

Administrative Assistant

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797612
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: karla.sellwood@otago.ac.nz

Fran Short

Fran Short

Resource Administrator

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797363
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: fran.short@otago.ac.nz

Aaron Singline

Aaron Singline

IT Support Technician

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 7182
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: aaron.singline@otago.ac.nz

Maureen Symister

Maureen Symister

Assistant Technician

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797310
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: maureen.symister@otago.ac.nz

Paul Treadwell

Paul Treadwell

Computer Support Person

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797182
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: paul.treadwell@otago.ac.nz

Leo Van Rens

Leo Van Rens

Technical Specialist

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797304
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: leonardus.van.rens@otago.ac.nz

James Woods

James Woods

Technical Specialist

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797304
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: james.woods@otago.ac.nz

A summer research project is an excellent way to get a taste for what scientific research is like. I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in carrying on with science beyond undergraduate level.

Xander Seymour - Summer Research Student 2010/2011