University of Otago.Department of Physiology.Department of Physiology.

Physiology TV

An overview of Physiology at the University of Otago.

News

23rd June, 2017

Two HRC Project Grants awarded to Physiology Professor

Congratulations to Professor Allan Herbison who is the recipient of two Health Research Council of NZ (HRC) Project Grants totalling almost $2.6 million.

12th May, 2017

Julia Gouws (MSc student) receives another accolade for her research

After being awarded 1st= for the School of Biomedical Sciences Dean’s Prize for best 2016/17 Summer Scholarship Report recently, Julia has received another prestigious award this week.

5th May, 2017

Physiology PhD students take home prizes at the School Symposium

he School of Biomedical Sciences (BMS) Postgraduate Symposium was held on 3-4 May at the Otago Museum, and once again, our students had great success at the event.

30th March, 2017

Physiology student wins School’s Prize for Best Summer Scholarship report

Congratulations to Julia Gouws (supervisor Dr Karl Iremonger) who was awarded 1st= for the School of Biomedical Sciences Dean’s Prize for best Summer Scholarship Report for 2016/17.

30th March, 2017

Department of Physiology staff continue to be involved in fantastic Lab in a Box initiative

Lab in a Box is a mobile science laboratory, built in a 20 foot shipping container. It comes fully equipped with both science “gear” and people. Researchers and students from around New Zealand (or indeed around the World) are involved in this fantast

Next Event

3rd July, 2017

Aaron Korpal (PhD Final presentation, Department of Physiology)

 
PhD Programme.

Our People


General Staff

Mandy Bacon

Mandy Bacon

Janine Cockburn

Janine Cockburn

Sue Deans

Sue Deans

Tracey Fleet

Tracey Fleet

Dianne Galvin

Dianne Galvin

Josh Gould

Josh Gould

Karen Grant

Karen Grant

Ray Hannagan

Ray Hannagan

Dr Chris Harvey

Chris Harvey

Rachael  Holloway

Rachael Holloway

Charlotte Morris

Charlotte Morris

Heather Muir

Heather Muir

Karla Sellwood

Karla Sellwood

Fran Short

Fran Short

Aaron Singline

Aaron Singline

Maureen Symister

Maureen Symister

Paul Treadwell

Paul Treadwell

Leo Van Rens

Leo Van Rens

James Woods

James Woods

Mandy Bacon

Mandy Bacon

Lab Technician

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 7310
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: mandy.bacon@otago.ac.nz

Janine Cockburn

Janine Cockburn

Financial Administrator

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4795406
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: janine.cockburn@otago.ac.nz

Sue Deans

Sue Deans

Technical Manager

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4795106
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: sue.deans@otago.ac.nz

Tracey Fleet

Tracey Fleet

Departmental Administrator

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797317
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: tracey.fleet@otago.ac.nz

Dianne Galvin

Dianne Galvin

Financial Manager

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4795228
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: dianne.galvin@otago.ac.nz

Josh Gould

Josh Gould

Laboratory Assistant

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 7310
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: josh.gould@otago.ac.nz

Karen Grant

Karen Grant

Financial Administrator

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 7417
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: karen.grant@otago.ac.nz

Ray Hannagan

Ray Hannagan

Lab Technician

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797310
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: ray.hannagan@otago.ac.nz

Dr Chris Harvey

Chris Harvey

Lab Technician

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 7310
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: chris.harvey@otago.ac.nz

Rachael Holloway

Rachael Holloway

Compliance Officer

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797332
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: rachael.holloway@otago.ac.nz

Charlotte Morris

Charlotte Morris

Lab Technician

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797310
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: charlotte.morris@otago.ac.nz

Heather Muir

Heather Muir

Purchasing Officer

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 9265
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: heather.muir@otago.ac.nz

Karla Sellwood

Karla Sellwood

Administrative Assistant

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797612
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: karla.sellwood@otago.ac.nz

Fran Short

Fran Short

Resource Administrator

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797363
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: fran.short@otago.ac.nz

Aaron Singline

Aaron Singline

IT Support Technician

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 479 7182
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: aaron.singline@otago.ac.nz

Maureen Symister

Maureen Symister

Assistant Technician

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797310
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: maureen.symister@otago.ac.nz

Paul Treadwell

Paul Treadwell

Computer Support Person

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797182
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: paul.treadwell@otago.ac.nz

Leo Van Rens

Leo Van Rens

Technical Specialist

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797304
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: leonardus.van.rens@otago.ac.nz

James Woods

James Woods

Technical Specialist

Department of Physiology
Otago School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
PO Box 913
Dunedin
New Zealand

Phone: 4797304
Fax: +64 3 479 7323

Email: james.woods@otago.ac.nz

I really see no harm which can come of giving our children a little knowledge of physiology.

Thomas Henry Huxley - Science and Culture (1882), 92